We’re All On Our Way

“It was such an unbelievable moment, and it was like… watching a dream pop out of my mind into reality…”

– David Archuleta

I’ll admit I was sitting here at my monitor, grinning ear to ear right along with David, as I watched him listening to the Z100 world premiere of his first single through the studio headphones. He was anxious, elated – his eyes smiled with sweet synchronicity as he heard himself sing, “It was a rush, what a rush…” 
For those few minutes I was caught up in his dream, lost in a moment that was uniquely his, yet profoundly shared. It was then, in some quite epiphany of the heart, I understood the significance of that moment: I was witnessing a lesson in faith. I had been blessed years earlier to hear David sing “Dream Sky High,” when he came to perform for the kids at the Boys & Girls Club, where I used to work. The words to that song have always challenged me on a spiritual level as they juxtapose the primordial human emotions of love versus fear. They evoke the endless conundrum of man’s purpose within God’s purpose, and leave us, ultimately, with a question that answers itself as our mortality plays out on our own journey to self discovery.
Whether or not we realize, our given potential is a matter directly measurable against our faith in ourselves, and perhaps, our destiny. By realizing his dream, David has reminded us that faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen; and although we may be far from who we could be, we’re all on our way.

David delivers an impromptu, a cappella rendition of “Dream Sky High” outside the Boys & Girls Club of Wellington, Florida. May 17th, 2004.

David delivers an impromptu, a cappella rendition of “Dream Sky High” outside the Boys & Girls Club of Wellington, Florida. May 17th, 2004.


Video: Dream Sky High

\”Dream Sky High\”

Dream Sky High

So much of life’s a mystery to me
Yet, somehow so clear.
Questions with answers deep in the heart
Like, “Why are we here?”

What can I do that will matter most?
What can I say to make your day?
One thing I feel I can say to you…
“Keep up your faith, you’ll find your way.

Dream sky high!
Ride the chances flying by.
Even angels dream sky high,
Of everything they long to try.
Dream it sky high.

Time and again the doubts come along,
But why let them stay?
Everyone’s far from who they could be.
We’re all on our way.

Days we were strong we remember well, yeah.
Days we were scared, we live and learn.
Ask me the way and I will point above.
No matter what, that’s where I turn.
That’s where I turn.

Dream sky high!
Ride the chances flying by.
Even angels dream sky high,
Of everything they long to try.
Dream it sky high.

(Background) Dream, Dream, Dream…
Keep up faith, yeah.
Don’t you hide,
Don’t you run,
No, no.
Everyday is your celebration.
Don’t you ignore who you can be.
Soar your imagination!

Dream sky high!
Ride the chances flying by.
Dream sky high.
Even angels…
Dream sky high,
Ride the chances flying by.
Even angels dream sky high,
Of everything they long to try.
Dream it sky high.

 

DSH- Rough Mix Demo,  Recorded June 16th, 2003.
Written by Jeff Archuleta & Sunny Hilden
Vocals Produced by David Archuleta

 

~ by archuletafanscene on August 4, 2008.

6 Responses to “We’re All On Our Way”

  1. thanks for posting this video… even back then Young David was blessing everyone. And it was a pleasure to meet him while on tour in Detroit… David has a calling and he is fullfilling it …..

  2. I had only recently listened to Dream Sky High and it has become perhaps the most emotional song to listen to that David sings… “Even angels… dream sky high” really got to me. Thanks for the post, it made my day.

  3. I see Jeff helped write this song!!! We see where David gets his talent and if the words indicate the type of person his Dad is , it shows he is pretty spiritual too.

  4. i love how you can iwn a prize just by posting a comment! i love this website!!!!! i have dream sky high on my ipod and its incredible! it give me chills!! we love you david and jeff!!!

  5. Everytime I listen to this song it makes me well up in tears coz even at a young age David could really tug at your heartstrings with his vocal prowess and unbelievable range. And the lyrics are so meaningful! I am in my mid forties and have been through a lot of emotional turmoil in the past couple of years due to work-related problems. David has awakened me through his music and his beautiful persona that any conflict can be overcome with positivity and a determination to always seek that which is good and true. He is my angel and his songs fill my days at work and at home before I go to sleep with great happiness. I’ve become more attuned to the beauty in the world — people, places, events, art, anything! Just when I felt I was becoming cynical due to age and experience, here comes a young man who brings new light to my world with his heartwrenching renditions of songs that normally do not catch my attention but are actually rich in meaning and substance. I am now truly and forever his captive audience.

  6. I love this site! And I love this idea, and david!<3

Leave a Reply

 
