Archuletas Attend Last Night’s “Journey” Concert at the Greek

Fan Scene has heard from a source in California that David Archuleta and his Dad, Jeff, attended last night’s Journey concert at The Greek Theatre in Los Angeles. Classic rock bands Cheap Trick and Heart opened the show. David and Jeff didn’t arrive at the concert until mid-way through Heart’s opening act but they were there for the entire Journey set. The Archuleta’s had backstage passes and were able to meet the band after the show. Both David and Jeff had a great time and enjoyed the concert!

Update: David just posted this on his MySpace Blog

“Hey everyone,

I’m just checking in from the studio but if you’re wondering if I’ve been able to do anything else this last week besides working on the album, I was able to go to the Journey with Heart and Cheap Trick concert last night!! Woo Hoo! haha. The sad thing was I missed Cheap Trick and part of Heart because I was recording :(, but at least I was doing something productive and important haha. So I’m bummed I couldn’t see the first part of the show, but Heart was amazing as always.  Journey was incredible too!! I was able to go backstage and meet them during the intermission after Heart’s set, and I have to admit I was nervous because I felt like I was just bugging them and invading their space haha.  But they were waaay nice.  They have the new singer Arnel Pineda, and I can’t believe how amazing he can sing.  He’s Filipino, and blew me out of the water!  Another sad part is I didn’t bring my camera since I was thinking about recording before haha, but I tried getting pictures of them performing on my iPhone.  I’m a terrible photographer but oh well.  I actually have some really random pictures on my iphone from tour, but I think it’d be fun to post them anyway just so you can see what I tried to take pictures of wandering around haha.  But I’ll think about it, since they’re not exciting.

I definitely wanted to take a minute to thank everyone again for your support.  I can’t believe how well “Crush” is doing and I’m so happy that you all like it. Everyone has been so supportive, from the reaction to the song and video to the comments and voicemail messages I’m getting.  I’m working really hard on this album and hope everyone loves it!

Well that’s it for now.  I’ll try to post another blog soon.”

David

“Oh! P.S. haha.   I just wanted to let you know about this girl on Youtube I was shown named Savannah.  She sang a version of Crush that was cool and different.  I seriously felt honored that she would sing it lol, and she’s only 15.  So you should check it out!”

**********************************************************************************

Journey features founding members Neal Schon (guitar) and Ross Valory (bass), along with Jonathan Cain (keyboards), and Deen Castronovo (drums). They are joined by new lead singer Arnel Pineda. The band’s many hits since their origin in the 1970s include “Don’t Stop Believin’,” “Separate Ways (Worlds Apart),” and “Open Arms.”  They are promoting their three-disc CD/DVD, Revelation, which in stores now.

The band Heart, led by Ann and Nancy Wilson, is one of the most successful acts in rock music history.  With over 30 million albums sold and such hit singles as “Crazy on You,” “Magic Man,” “Barracuda,” “Straight On” “Dog & Butterfly,” “Never,” “These Dreams,” “Nothin’ At All” and “Alone,” the group eschews resting on their legendary stature and remains an active and artistically potent unit. In addition to forging Heart’s indelible mark in rock’n’roll, the Wilson sisters were also pioneer female rockers whose success and influence broke down the gender barrier for women to be bandleaders and musicians.

Since the 1970’s, Cheap Trick has been blending elements of pop, punk and even metal in a way that is instantly catchy and recognizable.  Their timeless classics include, “I Want You to Want Me,” “Surrender” and the late ‘80s lighter-waving favorite, “The Flame.”  Their most recent album is Rockford (named for the band’s hometown) released on their own imprint.  With more than 5,000 performances, 20 million records sold, 29 movie soundtracks and 40 gold and platinum recording awards, Cheap Trick is a musical institution.

Journey with Lead Vocalist Arnel Pineda (from the Philippines) at Chile Feb 21, 2008

~ by archuletafanscene on September 29, 2008.

5 Responses to “Archuletas Attend Last Night’s “Journey” Concert at the Greek”

  1. […] our friends at Archuleta Fan Scene for more coverage information including band statistics on Journey and Heart (the concert’s […]

  2. hey david congrats! u have such an awesome talent! you’re such a cute boy! sorry u do look alot younger than your real age! i am a filipina and thanku for watching journey concert! please post the pics. u have a long way to go!

  3. I hope we can get some pictures, we don’t care if they came out very well or not, we love anything that David shares with his fans, it’s awesome!!

  4. hi david! i love you!!!you are soo cute and talented. you know what, i was also there last night and i saw your friend from American Idol Carly Smithson.

  5. hello david…do you know that you have so many filipino fans from the phils?i have followed your AI journey and you were simply
    A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! thank you for your good review of the journey concert and admiration for our fellow filipino, ARNEL PINEDA! too bad you didnt get a picture with him. you should have asked someone with a camera to take your picture and then just sent it to you. im sure it will be that person’s delight to have done that. too bad! anyway, there will always be a next time!

Leave a Reply

 
