David Archuleta – Faith, Hope, and Charity

DavidArchuletaRisingStar

David Archuleta and his father, Jeff, along with a family friend, are hoping to make a trip to India to visit the children of Rising Star Outreach. Rising Star’s works are primarily aimed at families affected by leprosy, or Hansen’s Disease. The Archuleta’s friend who is a Family Dentist wants to provide free dental care to the many children living in the colonies. The Archuleta’s friend will be the first Dentist ever to volunteer his services to Rising Star and they are all excited to be part of this desperately needed outreach. Donations will be needed to cover the cost of Dental equipment and supplies. Fan Scene will keep you up to date as this story develops.

Rising Star’s work is the subject of an hour long PBS documentary entitled “Breaking The Curse,” produced by former CNN senior producer Brian Kosisky and narrated by former CNN anchor Daryn Kagan. In “Breaking the Curse,” Kosisky said he tried to capture the “profound” ways leprosy-affected people have been transformed by the works of Rising Star.

~ by archuletafanscene on October 16, 2008.

27 Responses to “David Archuleta – Faith, Hope, and Charity”

  1. Wow. This is such a great cause! I hope David is able to make the trip. I love that David has such a golden heart. We need more people like him in this world. Please keep us updated on this! 🙂

  2. Hi Dana,

    I’m really excited about this. I can’t wait to see it take off!

  3. Me either! I’m super excited. You know, this has to be my favorite piece of David news we’ve received in a while. I hope he documents his trip or something.

  4. I love that he’s already working on using his influence for the greater good. ❤

  5. It’s because his heart is pure gold, Amy.

  6. You guys need a picture on your profile. Those little anonymous ghost guys aren’t aesthetic, lol.

  7. Wow. Todd, thank you for posting this information to show how David and his dad and family are trying to help those in need that may not get the attention they so deserve. It is great to hear how David’s record is proceeding and to know what he is doing to help promote it, but to hear the organizations he is becoming a part of just goes to show what he believes to be important and that is great at his age. What a role model he is becoming to everyone…regardless of age. On a side note, how do we create a photo next to our name?

  8. I sorta like being a ghost. Not only is it festive, but it makes me so mysterious. Ooh la la!

    Also, I enjoy this beige on dark gray comment box. Actually, this font color may be more of an eggshell? A slightly-off-white?

    Or maybe I’m totally wrong and it’s actually gray. Oh no, I’m going colorblind!

    (I just stopped myself from spamming your comments with Counting Crow lyrics. You’re welcome! :))

  9. Hi Jennifer. Thank you. I’m happy to have this opportunity to let everyone know about David’s charity cause. 🙂 In order to create the photo next to your name you need to sign up and create a profile at wordpress.com

  10. Your eyes are fine. It’s an offwhite, obsessively chosen to match the sunrays from R4D’s banner.

    Ghosts ARE festive, especially in this upcoming holiday season! Counting Crows? Suddenly I was hearing Chris Brown, lol.

    Feel free to spam away. The more snark the better. It’s a wonderful contrast to my usual somber blogging style, lol!

  11. Thank you for posting such a wonderful article about real issues in the world. David has made it clear that he wants to make peoples lives better through his music, and is obviously continuing that through this worthy cause.

    While other fan sites are discussing inappropriate things about David’s photo shoot, you are upholding what David is about, that of reaching out to others and caring for them before himself.

    Take Care,

    Gallie

  12. Thank you, Gallie. We appreciate your wonderful comment!

    Todd

  13. Thank you for sharing with us.. This is what it’s all about, David making a difference in peoples lives, he will touch lives everywhere he goes.. I admire his dedication, and staying true to himself..

    I don’t know much about missions but this truly is what I believe what David is on this earth for, he came into our lives to help us, inspire us–he has inspired me and changed my life, so to be able to support him through his career and these chartiies, it’s very meaningful to me.

  14. I have a picture now! Yay! 🙂

  15. I said Yay on another post but I shall say it again!
    YAY!

  16. Thanks! I’m excited! But I have to admit, I’m pretty jealous of your snazzy avatar.

  17. It IS snazzy, is it not? I’ll thank R4D for that.
    I’m trying to pin down an interview with James but I guess we just have to be patient.

  18. Thank you, Michelle. 🙂

  19. Very snazzy, indeed. I love R4D’s work. Patience is a virtue. Although, I tend to lack in the patience department. haha Hope you have more patience than me! So… good luck! 🙂

  20. That was a lot of the word ‘patience.’ Please forgive me.

  21. this is jus amazing news..David sure has a huge heart:-) can’t wait for more detailed info on this.. please please keep us updated on when and where is David goin to be for this charity work:-)

  22. […] TGIF, and TG for Fan Scene, for posting this most joyous news of the day. David and his family will be lending their support to Rising Star Outreach, a charity that reaches out to children of families afflicted with leprosy or Hansen’s Disease in India. Read more about it at Fan Scene.  […]

  23. Don’t worry. I’ll post any new info we get about this right away!

  24. Thank you for informing us of the Rising Star Outreach and possible involvement of David, Jeff, and family dentist. It is this type of information that should be prominently displayed – though I suspect that David does not do these things for any type of recognition. It is really about the music, the man behind the music, and the inspiration that he brings to us all.

  25. Hi ArchieFanDoc,

    We agree! When we find out more info on exactly how the RSO donations are going to happen we’ll pin that to our front page!! 🙂

    Todd

  26. ArchieFanDoc told me about this site and now this wonderful news about Rising Star Outreach. Thank you so much for this kind of news. This is what I care about….this wonderful young man with the golden voice and the spirit to match… and how his presense on this planet… in this time… affects us. This is a new charity to me and I look forward to reading more about it and viewing the videos. Many thanks!

  27. […] Nate!!!! I love your post on David Archuleta-Faith, Hope, Charity and David’s involvement in the Rising Star Outreach program. I think it is so amazing how he […]

Leave a Reply

 
