David Archuleta’s CD Liner Notes Highlights

David Archuleta’s self-titled debut album (out Nov. 11) is starting to make the press rounds, but without giving too much away (that’s what critic Chris Willman is for; look for his review in next week’s EW), we’d like to preview the American Idol runner-up’s extensive liner notes, which clock in at just over 3,500 words (2,000 of which are his Thank You’s) and include 6 lol’s, 8 haha’s, and 16 exclamation points. Some highlights:

Props to the fam:
Dad: Thanks for putting up with me for so long, never giving up, and keeping your cool. You always believed in me even during the times I didn’t, and you always try to lead me in the right direction. You’ve dedicated a lot of your time and I appreciate that. So thanks for all of your help.

Mom: You raised me to be who I am and have taught me so many things. When things get frustrating, you’re there to try and lighten things up. I’ve looked up to you for being very understanding, and trying to keep things peaceful. Even though I’m pretty sure I get my communication skills from you and we’re both bad with words (haha), you’re sensitive to people’s emotions. Thanks for letting me do this.

More snippets from Archuleta’s liner-tome after the jump.

BFFs:
Thanks for the advice you guys gave, and for your opinions on pictures and songs for the albums (lol)… Jessie, you didn’t let me stay a hermit, and I’m glad for that (haha). Thanks for making me laugh all the time. Fish, for being so amazingly cool. Your obsession with taking pictures actually helped a lot with what was to come and you helped me get over my fear of cameras (lol).

Musicians/Influences:
I’d also like to thank some of the artists who have inspired me to love music. Thank you Tamyra Gray and Kelly Clarkson for showing me how a performance can really move you. Thanks to Natalie Cole for being one of my biggest influences musically. Stevie Wonder for showing the creative and soulful side. Natasha Bedingfield for showing you can be yourself, and not be limited. Eva Cassidy for showing me that music can change lives for the better. Thank you to my recent influences Jason Mraz, John Mayer and Sara Bareilles for helping remind me the artistic expressive side and letting me have a good time listening too.

Shout-out to the UT:
Thank you to all of my neighbors and members from church who have shown their love and support every step of the way… It has meant the world to me to see the support from Utah, and I hope I make everyone there proud πŸ™‚ Go Murray, Utah!

All hail vocal coach Dean Kaelin:
It’s meant a lot to me that you were so willing to help out and would take time out of your busy schedule to do it whenever I was feeling worn out (haha). You helped me stay in my small space and keep my vowels narrow even though I still forget now and then. All those calls have done so much! Thanks for sticking with me and helping me get through those rough years when I had all those issues (lol).

American Idol and Fox:
Thanks for helping make this dream come true… It’s amazing how many people were a part of that experience and each one of you made it an amazing memory for me… Thank you Wendy Wilhite! You were so understanding to the pressure and intense schedule, and being able to talk every day helped me get through the crazy schedule each week. Thanks for helping me get through my schoolwork and letters (haha). You made it so much fun… Thanks Jill Hudson, Alex Gillespie, Jennifer Sprague and Dru Libby for getting me through the PR things smoothly while having a good time! haha

“My ‘family’ for the last year (haha)”:
Cook, Syesha, Jason, Brooke, Carly, Kristy, Michael Johns, Ramiele and Chikezie: You have all been so inspiring to be around, and I look up to you guys a ton. You’ve been like my big brothers and sisters and I’ve had so much fun. I hope we’ll still be able to keep in touch, and I look forward to watching you all grow in your careers. I really feel like you guys were there looking out for me and helped me get through some of the difficult moments, even if you didn’t realize it since I was always kinda in the background spacing out or whatever (lol). But thanks.

Not to harsh on Archie, but we’re barely skimming the surface here. He goes on (and on…and on…) to mention executives at 19 Entertainment, Jive Records, songwriters and producers who worked on the album β€” among them, new Idol judge Kara Dioguardi, Diane Warren, David Hodges and Robbie Neville (strangely absent is JC Chasez, with whom Archuleta co-wrote the track “Don’t Let Go”) β€” as well as his beloved Abuelita (grandma, whom he addresses in Spanish), members of his management team, the Idol tour crew, and finally, the fans.

Okay, so maybe he’s a little green, but how about being more green? Think of all the trees that had to give their lives for his CD packaging. Of course, as many of us know, a post-Idol recording contract by no means guarantees you’ll have a follow-up, so maybe Archie just had to take the opportunity to get it all out. But if this isn’t an argument for transitioning to digital delivery, I don’t know what is. Who’s with me?

Source: popwatch.ew.com

~ by archuletafanscene on October 31, 2008.

4 Responses to “David Archuleta’s CD Liner Notes Highlights”

  1. I’m going to ignore the writer’s comments. It is obvious she doesn’t know David Archuleta.

    We definitely need more people like David on this planet. David is a great role model for kids, teenagers, and adult. I’m learning a lot from him. David’s liner notes once again shows how incredibly awesome David is as a human being.

    THANK YOU DAVID ARCHULETA! THANK YOU! THANK YOU! Thank you for everything!!! you are a blessing!

  2. yes Sandra,it seems to me that she could take from this young mans humility and apply it to her own life,sure that if she took a second take on her words,she would see that.as a parent glad to have such a person as DAVID for our young people to look up too,and the talent is just so wonderful,thanks David,you have a grandma fan out here too

  3. […] liner notes As we learned when we got our hands on his forthcoming debut album’s liner notes last week, David Archuleta includes a Thank You to singer-songwriter to Jason Mraz for […]

  4. does anyone know what song Diane Warren wrote for David? (she is mentioned in the notes)

Leave a Reply

 
