Debut album in mind, ‘Idol’s’ David Archuleta exploring options

by David Burger

Since February, “American Idol” runner-up David Archuleta has spent only 16 days in his hometown of Murray.

But to show us where he comes from, in his forthcoming album’s liner notes he praises Utah and his Utah friends and even provides a phone number — with an 801 area code — for fans to leave messages for him .

Archuleta, who turns 18 in December, begins another chapter in his life Nov. 11. His first album, the self-titled “David Archuleta,” will be released by Jive Records, which has launched the music careers of Britney Spears, Will Smith, *NSYNC and the Backstreet Boys.

The first single from his album, “Crush,” has been a success. The week after its digital release this summer, the song about unrequited love debuted at No. 2 on the Billboard Hot 100, and has sold more than 800,000 copies since. The second single is expected to be Robbie Williams’ “Angels,” a personal favorite of the Murray teen and a song he performed sublimely during his run on “American Idol.”

In an interview, Archuleta talked about his first album and what he has been up to in the months since “American Idol” ended.

On an upcoming tour and whether he will visit Utah soon:

We’ve been discussing [it]. I know there will be a tour but I’m not sure how it’s all going down. I don’t really have control where I go. I love going home whenever I can, so it’s always cool to be back with my home people and hang out. I do miss being there and being around everyone. Say hi to all of them. I’m still very grateful to be here and have this chance and opportunity and perform. I’ve been on the radio promo tour for a couple of weeks. And so I’m in Boston right now. We’ve bee n in San Diego, Seattle, Chicago, Milwaukee, Albany, Atlanta. Oh wait, we’re not in Boston, we’re in Providence. Sorry, my bad.

On who’s traveling with him:

My dad’s the one’s who is with me usually. I get to see my family whenever I’m home. But I have family in Atlanta, so I got to spend some time with them.

On acting in a Nickelodeon TV show:

I think it would really be fun to do (acting) eventually. I don’t know if it’s the near future, or far future. It isn’t something I would (rule) out. I would have to take classes, too, to get more developed.

On the success of “Crush” and whether it’s autobiographical:

I was wondering if it was going to flop, but so far it’s been really cool to see that people have enjoyed it and people come up to me all the time and say, “Hey, I like your song.” That part is really cool. … You have to have some kind of connection with any song you sing, whether it be from personal experience or relating to a story indirectly.

On songwriting:

There are a couple of songs on the album that I co-wrote, which is really neat. Yeah, so that was cool. You can get a bonus track if you pre-order the album, and I co-wrote that track, too. There’s a deluxe edition as well, and I wrote one of those songs. I enjoyed all the collaborations. On the main album, I co-wrote a song with this guy named Jimmy Harry and [*NSYNC singer] JC Chasez. That was fun.

On the goal of the album:

I’m trying to show my growth. I’m trying new things, seeing what works best for me right now, being a teenager. When you’re a teenager, you’re in that, “Who am I?” [phase]. I’m just showing that I can go in this direction, or this direction, and showing that I’m not limiting myself. I wanted to make sure I didn’t run with one thing specifically with so little time and be like, “Did I do the right thing?” I give a lot of variety on this album.

On religion:

I think that’s really important at this time in my life. Since I’m away from the whole Utah environment it’s a lot more different, and I think it’s important to stay strong and that [religion] is part of your life. That’s what’s helped get me this far and what’s helped me stay myself, to be true to myself. I definitely owe it all [to God] upstairs.

Source: Salt Lake Tribune

~ by archuletafanscene on November 5, 2008.

One Response to “Debut album in mind, ‘Idol’s’ David Archuleta exploring options”

  1. Wow, so Angels may be the next single? Interesting. Wonder if David and Jeff may have wanted a different song to be the next single or this one? The behind the scenes informaton about what goes on in the production of an album, to what songs make it, and to what songs are chosen to be released as a single is very intersting and very foreign to me. I can see, now, why a lot of singers end up becoming co-producer of their album as they are allowed more control over their music and how it will produced and what songs end up where. David is educating all of us on this process and it is very enlightning. Does anyone feel the same?

Leave a Reply

 
