David Cook on Cook-versus-Archie

david-cook_l

ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY: Do you ever go online and sample the insane, intense fan scrutiny there?
DAVID COOK: ”There is this one video on YouTube that I’ve gotten into a habit of…well, not a habit, but I’ve [watched] it a couple of times. It’s these early-teen girls watching the finale, and they filmed themselves, and they’re all Archuleta fans, which is fun. My name gets announced [as the winner], and the girls just lose it. It’s painful to watch in that sense, because obviously I don’t want to feel like I’m upsetting anybody. But these girls said something that’s so funny, to me: ”How could they vote for that guy? He doesn’t even shave!” I love that. Because to me that encapsulated everything about people getting into the show. They embraced the littlest things about each person. I find that so interesting, from a sociological level. The things that some people gravitate toward me for are the things that other people just shun. You’ve got to take it with a grain of salt. But I love that everybody cares enough to have an opinion. Loved, hated, but never ignored, I guess is how I look at it.

Sometimes you can read the partisan fan squabbles that are still happening online and wonder if 20 years from now people will still be battling out the Cook-versus-Archie dynamic.
Hopefully, because that means Archie and I are hopefully still doing well! In a sense, it’s fun that that whole rivalry thing got created. If you put me in the same sentence with David Archuleta, I’ll be fine.

Source: www.ew.com

Editor’s note: I got to meet David Cook on the Idol Tour and he was a really nice guy. 🙂

Which David’s CD do YOU think will sell more copies? VOTE HERE

Thanks, Andie!

~ by archuletafanscene on November 7, 2008.

One Response to “David Cook on Cook-versus-Archie”

  1. Although I’ve heard quite a lot of not good stories abt Cook, but I do hope that there will be no real war between the 2 amazing talented singers. I’m sure that both are going to have great careers in years to come.
    Btw, pls come to Vietnam soon, David Archuleta. I can’t wait to meet you in-person.

Leave a Reply

 
