David Archuleta: To Help and to Learn.

When I saw this picture with the quote from David I knew I had to post it. It made me think of when I was a kid, sitting on my bedroom floor with my World Book encyclopedias spread all around, imagining I was in Africa. There’s something about the landscapes, peoples, and exotic animals of the cradle of humanity that has always intrigued me. My mother still has a letter I wrote her when I was seven that said, “Please don’t forget me when I go to Africa.” Lol. 🙂 I hope David does get to visit Africa some day, because I know he has a heart for those who are suffering. I’m looking forward to witnessing what great humanitarian works David will accomplish with his life, through his music, and through the gifts God has given him.


“As a rock star, I have two instincts, I want to have fun, and I want to change the world. I have a chance to do both.”

-Bono


davidarchuletaafrica1

~ by archuletafanscene on November 29, 2008.

13 Responses to “David Archuleta: To Help and to Learn.”

  1. David has such a kind and giving soul.
    A family friend once said that David is doing this for the “real reasons”.
    We have been blessed that David gives of himself and lends his voice to anyone who is so lucky to listen.
    I believe that he does not do this for the fame and glory and all that comes along with that — the good and the bad, he does this for the right reason:
    To do good with what has been given to him.
    David is a remarkable young man who respects who he is and deserves that respect in turn.

    “The music, the man behind the music, and the inspiration he brings to us all.” … ArchieFanDoc

  2. addendum:

    David Archuleta is the “new” Bono.

  3. Davis is fantastic !!! you are making a great job here. Thank you !!!

  4. I totally agree with ArchieFanDoc about David doing this for the “right reasons.” That’s why he doesn’t get caught up in the gossip and rivalries or sales. He just wants to sing, make good music, and make his family and fans proud. David is an inspiration to us all!

  5. We have seen David use the gifts he has been given to promote good time after time, even at this young age, I could only imagine the charitable works he will accomplish as time goes by. David’s heart is as beautiful as his voice.

  6. I’m the above anonymous!

  7. How I love this commentary..let me count the ways…

    Loved your personal story..”Don’t forget about me when I go to Africa”…that is so cute. I can picture a young boy dreaming of exotic Africa.

    Loved the Bono quote…look what he has managed to do.

    Loved David’s quote and how wonderful it will be to see him carve a place in the world…for the right motives.

    Love that this site just gets better and better!! You must all be eating your Wheaties!!

  8. David definitely has a heart of gold!

  9. Actually Bono will say one of these days. Man I was actually compared to David Archuleta, he is such an an amazing man to be compared to.

  10. DAVID, YOU ARE WONDERFULL!! but you don”t need to go that faaarrr! REMENBER WE HAVE SOOOOO MANY KIDS AND PEOPLE IN HONDURAS ,JUST LIKE IN AFRICA!! I’M SHURE YOU KNOW IT!! (BUT I GUESS IS NOT UP TO YOU!)but MAYBE SOME DAY!!! IS OUR PRAY!!!

  11. I think I am going to go get some Wheaties!

    M.E. — It would be lovely if we somehow could help support a Honduran Charity in David’s honor.

  12. ArchieFanDoc…that is a superb idea!!

  13. It’s so endearing to see David’s heart manifest in his comments like this. I often wonder what he has seen or heard that has triggered these feelings. There have been two teenagers I’ve known who have gone to Africa with a high school program during the summer to help teach English in a school. The teens today think deeply and care deeply enough to DO things. It’s very inspiring.

Leave a Reply

 
